Thursday, October 27, 2011

Winners of the 2011 Whiting Writers' Awards

The 2011 Whiting Writers' Awards winners were announced Tuesday. The annual awards, which began in 1985, are given to ten up and coming writers in fiction, nonfiction, plays, and poetry and include a $50,000 prize. The 2011 recipients include 4 fiction writers, 4 poets, 1 nonfiction author, and 1 playwright:

Scott Blackwood, We Agreed to Meet Just Here (fiction)
Teddy Wayne, Kapitoil (fiction)
Daniel Orozco, Orientation (fiction)
Ryan Call, The Weather Stations (fiction)
Don Mee Choi, The Morning News is Exciting (poetry)
Eduardo C. Corral, Slow Lightning (poetry)
Shane McCrae, Mule (poetry)
Kerri Webster, We Do Not Eat Our Hearts Alone (poetry)
Paul Clemens, Made in Detroit (nonfiction)
Amy Herzog, After the Revolution (play)

No comments:

Post a Comment